Advent Calendar Day 19 #recipe

image

Guess what? I still have flu, I’mย still bed bound and I frickin’ hate it!

Luckily, instead of boring you to death with tales of my flu I thought I’d share a recipe that I made last month. I didn’t share it then because I tailored made it to suit me and the freezer full of apples I still had…

Apple mincemeat

image

400ml cider
225g soft brown sugar
1 Kg apples, peeled and cored
1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg 1/2tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 stick of cinnamon
5 cloves
1 star anise
225g raisins
240g sultanas
120g chopped pecans,
60g chopped hazelnuts
60g chopped almonds
juice and zest of 1 lemon
3 tbsp maple syrup
100ml rum

image

Heat the cider and sugar, stirring to dissolve the sugar and chop the apples. Add all ingredients except the maple syrup and rum, to the pot and simmer gently for around 1 hour until the apples have turned into puree and the mixture looks rich and thickened.
image

Remove from the heat and leave to cool. Stir in the maple syrup and rum and then pour into sterilised jars, cover and seal. Leave for a few weeks to mature before opening if you can. The mincemeat should keep for up to 1 year unopened.
image

I used a cinnamon stick, star anais, cloves and fresh nutmeg because I prefer being able to cook to my taste. However, if you like, it’s much easier to use a tea spoon of mixed spice! Likewise you could use cherries, apricots and other mixed fruits or mixed peel and no nuts at all.

Melissa xx

9 thoughts on “Advent Calendar Day 19 #recipe

  1. Pingback: Advent Calendar Day 3: Mince Pies | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

