The Goan Glen House

Welcome to The Glen House’s Indian cousin, nestled amongst the coconut trees in the wonderful coastal setting of southern Goa.

image

The little house has a fantastic array of fruit trees and flowers in the garden… 12 Coconut trees

image

Mango trees

image

Papaya trees

image

Bright vibrant flowers
image

image

I can watch the world go sitting on the veranda, peering out the gates at the front of the little house. Listening to the Church bells ring and watching the children play cricket go hand in hand with a cup of chai at 4 o’clock every day.

image

I love it! Well 99% of the time I do, however there is the odd moment every tripΒ  when the 35Β° heat and 94% humidity have often led me to ask when is it going to snow?!

image

I don’t feel like a tourist, especially within the four walls of the little compound, it’s home. The neighbours are friendly, as are most of the people you meet anywhere in Goa. They are warm-hearted and willing to help even though some of them have so little.

image

There is the other side of things too; its noisey, it’s dirty, there are people living on the streets but if you don’t want to see it, don’t come! Do I feel safe getting on a bus or going shopping on my own? No. Daily reports in the broadsheets are of countless numbers of rapes, murders and abuses of women and children horrify me. It’s awful. I am blessed to live in a country where I do feel safe to go out and about on my own. I should also stress, that as much as I am appalled, I would never stop coming back. It is, for the most part, a little bit of heaven.

image

Melissa xx

10 thoughts on “The Goan Glen House

  1. Oh I am so jealous. I would love to be there right now. I’ve been to India twice, but never to Goa. Maybe one day. I speak fluent Portuguese so that’s a plus. Are you vacationing there or do you actually have a home there?
    Blessings =)
    –Staci

    Like

  2. Pingback: Post number 50….Already? | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

