American Pancake Brunch

I used to make breakfast pancakes all the time on my days off before I moved into The Glen House. Then it all stopped….

image

But inspired by everyone else blogging about them over the last few weeks, I just had to find it within me to give it a bash. Elaine’s Foodbod Pancakes and Dimple’s Shivaay Delights Cocoa PancakesΒ looked so yummmmy.

Drum roll please……. may I present the first pancakes in The Glen House (using Nigella’s recipe for yummy spongy American style pancakes, just like the old days)….

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 pinch of salt
1 teaspoon white sugar
2 large eggs (beaten)
30g butter (melted and cooled)
300 ml milk
225g plain flour
butter for frying

image

Place the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar into a bowl and make a well in the middle. Beat in the eggs, melted butter and milk, and transfer to a jug: it’s much easier to pour the batter into the pan from a jug!

Leave it alone for as long as you can, I can never manage more than about 15 minutes.

Melt a little butter in a pan, then pour or (or dollop) the mix in. I find small fist size pancakes are more manageable because these are thicker. Once they start to bubble on top, turn them.

image

My Mother always taught me to use grease proof paper in between pancakes whilst they are staying warm…. And it works!

image

I topped them off with blueberries, vanilla yogurt and maple syrup!

image

YUMMY!!!!!!

Melissa xx

8 thoughts on “American Pancake Brunch

  1. Pingback: Happy Flour, Egg & Milk Day! | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

