Happy?

Why is everyone banging on about being happy at the moment? I’m generally a happy person (my Mother might beg to differ)…. I have my moments, but don’t we all?

image

Yesterday I attended a work conference on being ‘happy’… It was a bizarre day where we were challenged with the idea that the following three questions rarely produce a job:
1) What am I good at
2) What do I love to do
3) What will I get paid to do

image

I’m lucky to be paid well to do a job that I’m good at, but do I actually enjoy it? Who does love their 9-5 job? It was interesting to see eyes light up amongst the rest of the group…. I got the impression several people had a ‘light bulb moment’ and were suddenly ready to hand in their notice and run off into the distance.

Now in my thirties, I’m very much of the mindset that a job is just a job. It’s not what I want to be remembered for, nor will they remember me in 20 years. It took me a long time and hard knock to realise this.

image

We were also told that too many people just don’t know what they want to do or where they are going. Not just young ones fresh out of college, but older, more established people who just get swept along with life. So I came away feeling (happy) blessed that I do have a long-term plan, and it ain’t to climb the corporate ladder where I am (yawn)… I will run my own bakery one day. I know I will.

I should point out that the whole day was sponsored in my head by PHARRELL WILLIAMS “Happy”, I couldn’t stop replaying this again and again…..Because I’m happy, Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof, Because I’m happy, Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth, Because I’m happy, Clap along if you know what happiness is to you, Because I’m happy, Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do…..

image

What makes you happy?

Melissa xx

10 thoughts on “Happy?

  1. To be honest, like you, I’m happy person too, I have a lovely life, I have a wonderful family and home, and I am happy, it’s very rare that I’m not 🙂 and I love that song, as soon as I started reading your post it was in my head!!! Keep smiling honey :)))

    Like

  2. So great to be happy with your life, where you’re at. I just wrote a post about ‘living in the now’, not licking the wounds of yesterday and not living for the future. The future is so unsure. And, of course, we don’t control over it. I’m very happy too. I just hope that I can maintain that happiness during difficult circumstances.
    =)

    Like

  3. Pingback: Post number 50….Already? | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

