Chocolate ‘n’ Cherry clean up cakes

This morning seems like a chilly, BUT DRY morning at The Glen House.

image

Yesterday, the spring clean continued into the pantry; I seem to have gathered a rather large collection of spotted, stripped, floral, shiny cake cases!

For those of you that don’t know, I’m not a cupcake fan, I’ll stick to fairy cakes thank you! I firmly believe they should be simple little cakes with sultanas or chocolate chips…

Rant over…

image

Continuing my tidy, I came across a packet of morello cherries in kirsch, that I’d bought before Christmas (why)!

image

I thought I could use my favourite muffin recipe, to use up the cherries and a few of the paper cases. The recipe is one I’ve been using for years and is from this fun little book.

image

Ingredients:
50g butter
75g brown sugar
1 egg
100g plain flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
90ml milk

Icing:
75g butter
125g icing sugar
1 tablespoon cocoa
1 teaspoon hot water

Preheat the oven to 190°/ gas mark 5 or turn your Rayburn off!

image

Cream the butter and sugar, then add in the egg. Sift in all the dry ingredients and then add the milk. It’s so quick and easy! If I’m making large muffins, I would double these quantities.

I spooned some mixture into the paper cases and then popped a couple of cherries in, then covered them with another couple of spoons of mix.

image

Within 10 mins these little muffins are done. I finished them off with the butter icing (beat the icing sugar and butter until smooth, then add the cocoa and water) and a few more cherries.

image

There was a nice little surprise in the middle. However next time I would mix the cherries through the batter….

image

image

Melissa xx

4 thoughts on “Chocolate ‘n’ Cherry clean up cakes

  1. Pingback: Can I bake and make a cake? | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

