Tasty Books #2 Roast Mackerel

Last week I wrote a post called Tasty Books, which saw me try out a new recipe from one of the many cookery books I own… And having finally admitted that I haven’t used all the books before, I decided I should continue with a series of ‘Tasty Book’ posts.

The other night I adapted Gordon Ramsey’s roasted mackerel with garlic and paprika to feed 2 people for dinner! It was taken from his Ultimate Cookery Course book which is full of REALLY EASY but tasty ideas.

image

Ingredients:
1 garlic cloves, peeled
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp sea salt, (I used pink Himalayan)
Olive oil
4 mackerel fillets, skin on
300g new potatoes
2-3 spring onions, trimmed and thinly sliced

image

For the vinaigrette
Pinch of saffron
1/2 tbsp white wine vinegar
1/2tsp Dijon mustard
4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

image

Preheat the oven to 400Β°F. Put the garlic and paprika into a mortar, add the salt, and pound to a smooth paste. Add a few drops of olive oil, then rub the flesh side of the mackerel fillets with the paste and set aside.

image

To make the vinaigrette, put all the ingredients into a small bowl and whisk together with a fork. It will look like it has split at first, but keep whisking! Season with salt and pepper to taste.

image

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and brush lightly with olive oil. Lay the mackerel fillets skin side up on the paper and season the skin with sea salt. Roast for 8-10 minutes until the skin is crisp and the fish is cooked through. Remove from the oven and leave to rest.

image

Meanwhile, boil the potatoes in a large pan of salted water for about 15 minutes until tender, then drain. Return to the pan with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Crush lightly with the back of a fork, then add the spring onions and stir to combine. Season with salt, then add a couple of tablespoons of the vinaigrette or do what I did… Chuck it all in!

image

I served the crushed potatoes and mackerel with a colourful salad!

image

Yummy! And Dad if you’re reading this, I’m cooking this the next time you pop over!

image

Melissa xx

12 thoughts on “Tasty Books #2 Roast Mackerel

  1. I like it for your enthusiasm and your ability, Melissa! – but as a vego, it doesn’t thrill me all that much. [grin] Just think how difficult it would be if you HAD to keep EVERYONE happy ALL the time!!!

    Like

  2. I sort of have a crush on Gordon… I think I need to buy a cookbook and try to veganize it all…. Not for any pictures of course, that’s just weird… πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Pingback: Vinaigrette’s to Complete Your Salad | Recipes for a Healthy You

  4. Pingback: I am better at cooking Trout than I am at catching them! | The Glen House

  5. Hi! I have a rake of fresh caught, slightly smoked and now frozen mackerel. We can’t eat onion, mayonnaise or mustard – any ideas? I’m happy to have the fish (it was free!) but I also dislike the smell in the house for days afterward.

    Like

Leave a Reply

