Tasty books #5 Apple pie

Just after we moved into The Glen House in the autumn of 2013, we realised that we had an abundance of apples, (you can read all about it in the original post here). Suffice to say, we still have apples in the freezer! Guess what’s coming next….

image

This apple recipe is brought to you from James Martin’s book ‘Great British Dinners’. It’s full of classic British dishes like Lancashire Hot Pot and Spotted Dick and Custard. It also has some ‘new’ British favourites such as Chicken Tikka Masala and Mousska. All the recipes are extremely easy to make and follow.

image

APPLE PIE
Ingredients:

700g cooking apples (I used Bramleys, as he suggested)
finely grated zest and juice of 1/2 lemons
1 tsp ground cinnamon
100 g caster sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
1 lightly beaten egg
25 g butter
675 g ready-made shortcrust pastry
flour, for dusting (I used puff pastry AND YES it was shop bought…. If it’s good enough for James, then it’s good enough for me).

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180°C/gas 4.

Quarter, core and peel the apples, then slice them thickly into a bowl. Sprinkle with the lemon zest and juice. and the cinnamon. Stir in the sugar and mix well.

Brush the rim of a deep pie dish with beaten egg. Tip the apple mixture into the dish and dot with the butter.

Roll out pastry on a floured board and place on top of apple mixture, trimming about 1cm beyond the edge of the pie dish.

Cut three small holes in the top of the pastry to let out the steam.

Brush the pastry with egg wash, then dredge with caster sugar and then bake for 35-40 minutes until the fruit is tender and the top is golden brown. Serve with custard!

image

Melissa xx
You can find me on Twitter @the_glen_house

10 thoughts on “Tasty books #5 Apple pie

  1. Mmm, I love a good apple pie! I grew up in a house that had apple trees in the garden, and I miss that. There’s something wonderful about picking a fruit straight from the tree, or gathering windfalls.

    I also enjoyed the black and white picture of James.

    Like

  2. I have a large apple orchard and make pies often but would you believe I’ve never made one with puff pastry. That will change this fall. 🙂

    Like

  3. It has been much too long since my last visit, but I have been doing a little traveling and have not even seen a laptop for days. But now I am happily back on my couch browsing my favourite blogs. You really have been cooking up some fabulous treats – loving this recipe! Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

