Advent Calendar Day 1: In My Kitchen

image

Some people open up a window of an Advent calendar to mark the 24 day run up to Christmas, but last year, to mark my first Christmas as a blogger I blogged every day in the run up to Christmas! Who needs chocolate behind a little window when you can have recipes and fun behind every post!

So to kick off the 1st of December,  I’m bringing you a post as part of Celia’s series In My Kitchen for her blog Fig jam and Lime cordial.

In My Kitchen…

…Are these cute Santa boxes! Only special people will receive homemade goodies for Christmas. I’m planning to put little cakes in them.

image

In My Kitchen…

… Are these great versatile food grade bags. These will be perfect for cake pops or cookies.

image

In My Kitchen…

… Are these heavy duty cookie cutters. I made the mistake of buying flimsy ones a few weeks ago- they were just awful! These new ones are much better made, they’re going to need to be, with all the work I have planned for them over the next few weeks.

image

In My Kitchen….

… Are these fantastic cheat “I’m in a rush” products. Easy to use cupcake icing in chocolate and vanilla and shimmer spray in gold and silver! I have cupcakes and a birthday cake planned between now and December 24th for my Advent calendar.

image

In My Kitchen….

…Is our Christmas reindeer table runner! I can’t wait to put it out!

image

In My Kitchen….

…Is a jar of Ottolenghi’s quick pickled lemons. You only have to wait 24 hours for this pungent, addictive accompaniment. Roll on the leftovers!

image

In My Kitchen….

…Sits beautiful jars of preserved lemons. Another fine recipe from Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem. The jars are only at the first stage, having been salted. The next stage will see rosemary, chilli and olive oil added. I promise I’ll post the lemon recipes in my Advent calendar posts over the next few weeks.

image

I’m hoping January’s In My Kitchen will be coming live from an airport, before I head to The Glen House’s cousin…. In Goa!

Melissa xx

30 thoughts on “Advent Calendar Day 1: In My Kitchen

  1. Very exciting getting ready for Christmas, I love all your packets and packages to put your yummies in! I need to find myself some of those as I usually use Christmas tins and they are so expensive 🙂 Thanks for sharing! Liz x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t wait to see all the goodies you put in the boxes and bags. I have several Christmas mini loaf pans and other treat containers too. We just put up our advent calendar, another new design this year. Looking forward to more Advent posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That reindeer runner is just adorbs!! Put it out now – it’s December after all!! Love the lemons, Melissa – both types. And your cutters are really cute – decorating the biscuits will be so much fun. Great idea to do an Advent month of blog posts – if only I were that organised! x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My review of 2014 | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

