Advent Calendar Day 10: Christmas Cake part 1

image

I love Christmas cake and over the years I’ve been brave enough to adapt other people’s recipes and this post describes what I’ve come up with.

I don’t see the point of using ingredients that I don’t enjoy eating. I use the dried fruits that I like, I hate mixed peel, so I leave it out. I prefer a spicy rum to brandy, so I use rum!

image

Ingredients :
500g of dried fruit; raisins, dates, sultanas, cranberries etc
150ml rum
225g butter
200g sugar
4 eggs
Granted rind of 1 lemon and 1 orange
1tbsp black treacle
225g plain flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp fresh grated nutmeg
100g nuts; walnuts, hazelnuts, almonds etc.

image

I put all the fruit in a bowl, poured the spicy rum in and left to soak over night.

image

The following day I preheated the oven to as low as it would go, about 110°C or gas mark 1/4. I lined the tin on the inside and then double lined the outside and tied with string.

image

Then I creamed the butter and the sugar in a bowl until fluffy, I gradually  beat in the eggs and added in the treacle and grated citrus rind.

image

I sifted the flour, salt, baking powder and spices into a seperate bowl, then folded in the egg mixture. Finally I folded in the soaked fruit, rum and nuts, then spooned the mixture into the prepared tin.

image

I baked the mixture for about 3 hours. It was begining to brown too quickly, so I covered it with foil. Then I used the inserted skewer trick to check when the cake was cooked!

image

I made this Christmas cake a few weeks ago and have been feeding it every week since with rum; I pierced the cake several times with a skewer and lightly drizzled rum over the cake.

To be continued…

Melissa xx

15 thoughts on “Advent Calendar Day 10: Christmas Cake part 1

  1. Christmas cake is a tradition I haven’t gotten into. Americans in general laugh about fruit cake, and I personally rarely like nuts in a cake. Someday I will have to try one though, maybe my tastes have changed. I would definitely use rum though like you do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Advent Calendar Day 24: Christmas Cake part 2 | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

