Advent Calendar Day 12: Shimmery Cupcakes

image

It’s 12th December and I’m half way through my Advent calendar…. I hope you are all enjoying it?

So it’s Fiesta Friday once again and I’m bringing another shimmery explosion to Angie’s place!

image

I made some wonderfully colourful cupcakes for my Godson and his family. I knew he’d be excited about Christmas when I visited, so I wanted to bring him something special.

The shimmery cupcake recipe is a perfect one to do with children, it’s very simple to do. It uses my fail safe chocolate muffin recipe with shop bought icing.

image

Chocolate cupcake Ingredients:
100g butter
150g brown sugar
2 eggs
200g plain flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoon cocoa powder
180ml milk

Topping:
1 can of chocolate icing
1 can gold shimmer spray
1 can silver shimmer spray

image

Line a cupcake tin with foil cases. Preheat the oven to 190°/ gas mark 5 or turn your Rayburn off! Cream the butter and sugar, then add in the eggs. Sift in all the dry ingredients and then add the milk. Spoon the mixture into the cases.

image

Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes, then leave to cool completely.

image

I used the cupcake icing to top each cake and left them to set.

image

I covered the table with newspaper and starting spraying! It was great fun building up the shimmery layers.

image

My Godson thanked me for the cupcakes by drawing me a beautiful picture. I hope Santa can bring me a tiara like the one in the drawing!

image

Melissa xx

24 thoughts on “Advent Calendar Day 12: Shimmery Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #46 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Impressive, Melissa! These look like you bought them at a bakery… fantastic icing job! I’d say all of the hard work put into these shimmery beauties was more than worth the reward of that fabulous artwork you received. 🙂 Adorable!

    Like

  3. wow–that’s fancy stuff! Gorgeous. And best part is that your Godson obviously sees you as a Super Hero Queen sort of person now 🙂 That’s the power of good baked goods. Love how the shimmer spray took the cupcakes waaaaay over the top. This is awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Advent Calendar Day 20: Edible goodie round up | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

