Advent Calendar Day 15: No Bake Baking

image

I’ve started making edible Christmas gifts and have used my ‘cookery book of the year’ to help. Sharon Hearne-Smith’s No Bake Baking is full of gift ideas. I started with her flash florentines and substituted some of the fruit and nuts with others, as she suggested.

image

Ingredients:
50g unsalted butter
100g caster sugar
100g soft brown light sugar
50g creme fraiche
1 piece of stem ginger, finely chopped
150g nuts (I used almonds and hazelnuts)
100g cranberries
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
50g chocolate

image

The fruit and nut mix

image

I melted the butter in a medium pan over a low heat. I added the sugars and turned up the heat, stirring for 5 minutes until smooth and gooey.

Then I carefully stired in the creme fraiche, stirring over a high heat until the sugars dissolved and the mixture thickened.

image

I removed the mixture from the heat and stired in the fruit, ginger, nuts, bicarb and vanilla.

image

I dropped the mixture onto a lined baking sheet, flattening into discs and left them to cool in the fridge.

image

Once the florentines were set, I melted the chocolate in a bowl over a pan of water. I allowed the chocolate to cool before spreading the back of each florentine with chocolate, popping it back on the tray and back in the fridge.

image

I gifted the florentines in these cute Santa food grade boxes, seperating each florentine with parchment paper. Such an easy recipe and very tasty!

Melissa xx

9 thoughts on “Advent Calendar Day 15: No Bake Baking

  1. Pingback: Advent Calendar Day 20: Edible goodie round up | The Glen House

Leave a Reply

