Guinness Chocolate cake

It’s nearly St Patrick’s Day and every foodie in the land seems to be posting an alcoholic cake of some sort, (not helping the Irish stereotype of course), so I thought I would too! I’ve only ever used alcohol in Christmas cakes, never in a normal cake, so this was an interesting challenge. It would have bee easy to have used Donal Skehan’s recipe, or Nigella’s but I decided I’d amend one of my own.

2015-03-13-09-30-23_decoI didn’t take any photographs while I was making the cake as I was making dinner at the time, but the recipe is easy!

Ingredients:

100g butter
150g brown sugar
2 eggs
200g plain flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoon cocoa powder
100 ml Guinness
80ml milk

2015-03-13-09-34-06_decoButter Icing:
75g butter
125g icing sugar
50ml Irish Cream Liqueur

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and line a 10inch cake pan. Cream the butter and sugar together and then beat in the eggs one by one.  Sift in the dry ingredients and fold together with a metal spoon. Pour in the milk and Guinness and mix. Place in the oven for about 34-40 minutes.

2015-03-13-09-32-06_decoRemove the cake from the oven and leave to cool completely. Meanwhile, sift the icing sugar into a bowl and mix with the butter. Slowly add in the liqueur and then leave mixture to firm up slightly. Finally, spread the icing over the cooled chocolate cake and serve!

2015-03-13-09-33-10_deco

The cake turned out lovely and moist! So I’m taking what is left of it to Angie’s place. Happy Fiesta Friday….. AND HAPPY ST PATRICK’S DAY TOO!!!

Melissa xx

P.S. I received a lovely gift from a local company today, so watch out for a second St. Patrick’s Day post next week!

20 thoughts on “Guinness Chocolate cake

  1. It looks wonderful – a Guinness cake, I’ll be my husband would love it :). I’m betting too that folks in Ireland don’t go crazy about the holiday like they do here in the States? Now they even have pre-St. Patty’s Day functions and everyone wears green. The pubs make a killing here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #59 | The Novice Gardener

  3. I spent 6 years in Dublin and never had a chance to try this cake, how come??? Mamma mia it sounds good! I made fantastic bread with Guinness, and there you go, you made a chocolate cake- if you ask me Guinness is THE thing-never mind the stereotype 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Guinness Chocolate cake | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

