Ballymaloe Cookery School part 2…

Once upon a time there lived a girl who loved tea and cake. She marvelled at elegant cake plates and fancy cake forks. She was in awe of seasonal produce and local goodies. This girl had a dream….

The dream was to make beautiful cakes and scones, perfect coffees and delicious teas and sell them from a teashop. Her teashop…

image

I spent two weeks at Ballymaloe Cookery School for a life changing reason- to learn about the business of food. I met some incredibly talented, smart, strong women (yes, an all women group….) who supported, nurtured and challenged me.

image

We were facilitated by the wonder woman Blathnaid Bergin. The Restaurant Advisor has over 25 years experience in the catering and hospitality industry and was perfectly placed to provide us with the knowledge and skills to set up in the industry. I was sooooo inspired!

image

Blathnaid Bergin and Rory O'Connel

Fionuala Lennon from The Pub Design Company joined us for a wonderfully creative day of cutting and pasting! She explained the importance of a good location and a good retail space. We explored design trends and how important a design brief is.

Then came the mood board:

image

Anne and Ross from Hancock and Abberton brought Fixx Coffee to Ballymaloe to give us an introduction to coffee (and tea). As a non coffee drinker, I was fasinated by all the different coffee types and the crazy machinery that it takes to make good coffee. “Fixx is an award winning blend of Sumatran, Ethiopian and Brazilian beans that is perfectly balanced to tease and tantalise the palate with its smooth, creamy and pleasantly spicy sensations…” Not my cup of tea at all, but their Chaa tea certainly was!

image

It was an exhausted two weeks, I haven’t written or read so much in a long time. I’ll be back at Ballmaloe Cookery School next year to attend the teashop course; don’t the cakes below look amazing! I’m so excited about my future…

image

Teashop course

First things first though…. RESEARCH TIME! I need to drink more tea (and I need to find someone to taste test coffee). I need to eat taste more cakes, scones and breads. I need to find recipes and write a menu… Oh, and I’ll need a premises!

I’ve a busy, exciting future ahead!

Melissa xx

10 thoughts on “Ballymaloe Cookery School part 2…

  1. Beautiful, and I’m so glad you took out some time to update us! I’ve been wondering about it ever since you mentioned it awhile back! What a wonderful opportunity and it looks like you’re making the most of it! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m home in a few months and would gladly taste test everything! Not a huge coffee drinker but I’d do my best! Mad jealous that you went there! Always wanted to go. Maybe in a year or two, I will!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

